Okay, I was a little unsettled yesterday morning, but I think I’ve got it sorted now. I’ve got a plan

1) Apply for EI. I did this online yesterday. I think it’s pretty tough to convince them that quitting is justifiable, especially when you’re not actually holding any anger or bitterness toward your former employer. We’ll see.

2) Register as an extra! My friend Tracy told me this is an excellent job for people that don’t want a real job. Not that I truly don’t want to work, it’s just that until February I’d prefer to focus on putting together my portfolio and applications… that’s what I consider my real job now.

3) Apply for bartender jobs. I used to bartend years ago, and I loved it. The hours and simplicity would also work well with my real job. I’m almost finished my resume, just have to track down a few references from my pre-raincity days. Last millennium.

4) Keep working on the van! I’ve got the frame built, it’s a bench with storage underneath that unfolds to make a nice wide bed, and also locks the shelving in place. Next I need to make the cushions and the window coverings, and then see if I can rig some solar power…

5) Start selling my stuff. That’s depressing… not because I’m not ready to let go if it, I am. Rather because it represents such a huge ‘investment’ over my lifetime: thousands and thousands of dollars. Now that I have to put a dollar value on it on Craigslist, I realize what a shite investment that stuff was all along! As long as it pays for my solar gear I’ll be happy.

6) Pay forward. My very last paycheck is coming up and there’s a few things I want to take care of so I don’t have to worry if my income is sporadic: loan payments, car insurance, 3 month flexipass for the swimming pools, and 3 months of yoga.

7) Work on projects… aside from the van conversion, right now the big one is with my friend Leona. She shares some land on Lesquite Island with her family, and wants to build a treehouse in the forest… so cool!!! We scouted the property last weekend, and I got a chance to hang out with her and her adorable mother, Vivian. I’ve started some drawings and some sketchup files, and I’m a little daunted by the technical challenges, but super excited to see what we can come up with.

8) ??? I’m sure there’s something I’m not thinking of. If anyone reads this, and has any ideas, please send them my way!

