Yesterday I finished the window coverings for the van. They’re panels of insulation covered in shaggy burgundy fabric that fit tight against the windows. On the inside it feels warm and womby, and on the outside it looks kinda pimpin’. So with the bed frame built, the foamy sized properly, privacy, and lots of blankets, I was ready to try my first night outside!

One advantage of vandwelling (I should start compiling a list of them) is that you can drive to a party and drink yourself into a stupour, and you don’t have to worry about how you’re getting home because you’re already there. So the timing was perfect, because that’s exactly what I did, and I slept like a baby.

I did notice my head got cold, which reminded me of the advice of one former vandweller that I’ve talked to who told me to get a warm hat. Otherwise my bed was warm and soft and lovely, and I slept til about 9:30. The struggle was getting up and leaving my little cocoon, but soon my body forced me to. All in all a successful test run.

