Woodland and William, right by the Britannia oval. I parked here because I was determined to finally get to a pool in the morning (success!), but it’s also a place with fond memories. I went to Britannia Elementary for grades 1, 2, and 3. It was built in the 70’s, so it was new and modern when I was there. Britannia Secondary was built way earlier, in 1911, with additions throughout the century. The two are on the same site, but separated by walls, elevation, architectural style, and of course the size of people who attend them. But they share a cafeteria. Us little kids got out for lunch right at 12, and we’d run from our cozy little modern community centre to a set of concrete stairs that led down, turned a blind corner, then down some more, then opened up to reveal the giant, old buildings that held the big kids, who got out for their lunch at 12:15. We’d race to the cafeteria and scarf down our lunches and get out before 12:15, convinced that the big kids would beat us up if they found us on their turf. I can’t remember why I was late one day, but I definitely remember my fear turning to pride as I ate with the big kids and they completely ignored me. I had a moment of uncertainty when I read “Highway to Hell” on the back of one kid’s T-shirt, and that’s probably when I ducked out. Still, I was pretty pleased with myself.

Here’s recess at Britannia, from William street. At the far right at the top of the hill you can see the little school and the little kids, and down at the left are the big school and the big kids…

