Salisbury & Napier. I’m honing in closer and closer on Britannia every day. There really is no other place in Vancouver where I can swim, do yoga, go to the library, and eat cheap healthy food all within a couple of blocks.

This is also very close to where I used to live when I was about 6 years old. I have a clear memory of being with a couple of friends (Homer, the trouble-maker from across the street, was one of them) and walking up to the side door of this temple, trying my house key in the lock, and being amazed to find that it worked! After that we climbed some stairs and found ourselves in a large dark room with a table at one end that had a number of mysterious things on it; the only ones I can remember are giant plaster cobras which we knocked over, and bowls of sugar, which we stuck our fingers in and licked. I went to the other end of the room and looked out the window, and saw an adult who also saw me, and yelled something. We ran, and weren’t caught.

For years I felt guilty about desecrating the temple, until I looked closer at the building. The door I remember entering through was in that left wing toward the back, about where the electricity meter is. And the window I looked out of was right in the middle of that big peaked roof, where now there’s just a vent. And how likely is it really that my house key would let me into a temple??? But to this day I’m not sure if it really happened or not.

