I’d almost given up on the idea of feeding myself properly in the van. It isn’t safe to use the camp stove indoors, and there isn’t room for it anyway. Cooking would steam the place up, too, and you know how I feel about more moisture. And then I’d have to deal with loads of dirty dishes, blecch! Most of all, I like to be around people, even if I’m not talking to them. I’d much rather be somewhere public than eating alone in a van.

So I’ve been thinking of my home as being modular: my bedroom is in the van, my shower and my gym are in the community centre, and my kitchen is all over the city, a constantly expanding network of cheap healthy eating spots (okay, usually healthy).

There’s an obvious problem though: my money’s gotten tight, and I just can’t eat out all the time. So I’ve figured out a few simple meals that don’t require cooking, that don’t make a lot of mess, and whose ingredients I can easily keep on hand in the van. Fruit is obvious, I like to always have apples and oranges and bananas on hand. I also have granola and almond milk and peanut butter, yum. Sometimes I can borrow a friend’s kitchen and boil up some eggs to keep around. And wraps are perfect: hand-held, variable ingredients depending on what’s on hand, fast to make and eat. Tonight’s had humous, havarti, dry black olive (the really salty kind), green pepper, and cherry tomatoes. Not bad!

You’ll notice those meals are all small, and that’s part of the idea too. I’m used to eating a lot, so with luck (and some willpower) this will help me cut down on the excess.

