My body’s been valiantly fighting something off for a couple of days now, and I was worried that the cold air I breathe at night might not be helping… but apparently that’s not an issue. I’ve just learned that one of the functions of the nose is to regulate the condition of inhaled air: whatever temperature and humidity it is outside the body, it only takes a quarter second for the nose to bring it to 98.6˚F and 75% humidity. That protects the lungs, where things are a bit sensitive. Cool huh? And since the rest of me is nice and warm at night I don’t think there’s anything to worry about.

Mildew is a whole other matter. Besides being stinky it would not be good for my health at all. So far I don’t detect any problems, but no matter how much I struggle against it moisture is always present in the van to some degree. In this kind of weather every time I get into the van I bring more of the wet in with me, so I collect used newspapers to use as floor mats, and recycle them when they’re wet. All the fabrics I’ve used in the window coverings are 100% artificial, which I think is less welcoming to mildew than natural fabrics, and I also sprayed them with colloidal silver which I’ve been told is a natural anti-bacterial agent. Doing what I can, and keeping a smellfull nose on it.

