Last night I had a bright idea, and laid out a big black plastic garbage bag over top of the foamy, under the faux fur and fitted sheet. The crinkling all night kept making me feel like I was sleeping on a diaper, but the good news is in the morning the bed platform was dry as a bone. Which means the moisture wasn’t caused by body heat and temperature differential, rather it was plain old vapour coming off my body. Mystery solved.

A memory just came back to me. Once I bought an ikea bed, and when I got it home the instructions actually recommended not making the bed every day, rather leaving the covers down to let the bed air out. So there you go.

Needless to say, I’m not going to continue sleeping on garbage bags, I’ll find a more comfortable vapour barrier. And leave the covers down.

