Dunlevy & Railway. I got to watch those enormous cranes moving. They roll along effortlessly, it’s the weirdest thing. The blue house is the Flying Angel Seamen’s Club, where sailors can buy used clothes and use the internet, exchange money, etc. Years ago my dad and I used to ride our bikes down on the docks, in between the containers and the stinky fish plants, and no one seemed to care. Never mind the terrorists, what about liability??? But since 911 of course only people with real business can get in.

I love trains and industrial landscapes, and I was really excited to stay here, but in the end I didn’t sleep very well… I kept dreaming about people who’d been fooled into doing terrible things and fervently believed they were right to do them. And of course the trains kept banging into each other.

