Moose Jaw, Sask. I managed to find a pool here by 8:45pm, too late for a swim, but they let me have a quick shower for free.

You may be noticing by now that these trip photos aren’t all that exciting. Fer chrissakes, I’m travelling across an enormous, gorgeous country… why aren’t you seeing the van in front of the rockies, or the van in front of Niagara Falls? Two reasons.

One stems from the fact that I drive drive drive… and then suddenly I decide I’m done, so I find a nearby place to park. I don’t keep going until I find something spectacular or interesting. Another is that when I’m choosing a spot I’m actually looking for a place where I’ll be inconspicuous. Many streets, especially in small towns, have spread-out single family homes where it’s really obvious when one of the cars on the street doesn’t belong, and I get the sense that wherever I park, if it’s in front of someone’s home they’re going to be extra curious about who I am and what I’m doing there. Not that they’d necessarily harass me, but it’s attention I don’t need, and I don’t want to make anyone uncomfortable. So I look for higher density housing. This street in Moose Jaw was perfect… quiet, but with houses close together and enough cars on the street that no one could tell which ones belonged to which houses. I doubt anyone noticed I was there.