When I was 9 or 10 years old my family went to New York, and at the MOMA we saw a model of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater. I was amazed at the idea of a stream incorporated into a house, and at what a beautiful thing it was. It was the first I’d ever heard that you could design such things for a living, and I decided then that I wanted to be an architect. Over the years I shied away from that dream, then approached it again, and repeated the cycle many times. I guess even now, though I’ve made a commitment to pursuing it, I still feel doubt sometimes.

Well the strangest thing happened yesterday, while I was stopped at a gas station in Pennsylvania looking at my road atlas: there in the margin was a little photo of Fallingwater, with a caption saying it was in Mill Run, Pennsylvania. It was practically right in my path. An hour or two down the road, and I was at a starbucks booking my tour for this morning at 11am.  Crazy!

It’s stunning, by the way. The living room feels so expansive that it has its own horizon, yet it brings the woods into the room with you… and somehow it also feels cozy and protective. Some people say FLW made ceilings low at entrances to make us uncomfortable and propel us into the rooms beyond, but maybe it’s just tall people who say that. I found the ceiling heights everywhere to be juuuuust right.

